Chocolate Cupcakes (Cake Mix Doctor)

IMG_4523Congratulations to my younger sister on graduating middle school today!! In honor of her massive love of chocolate (even greater than mine!) I made these classic chocolate cupcakes. I hate to admit this, but here’s a secret: I baked these cupcakes using a cake mix! One of my favorite dessert bloggers Your Cup of Cake, who I love most for her beautiful cupcake decorations, also uses “doctored” mixes and claims that the mix is just the dry ingredients for the recipe, so I don’t feel that bad for using one myself. Compared to yellow cake mixes which don’t come out quite as well, chocolate cake mixes turn out fantastic and very homemade tasting. I used two frostings to top off these fluffy cupcakes: 1) homemade chocolate ganache from my Chocolate “HoHo” Layer Cake (the darker frosting) and 2) chocolate Cool Whip frosting, a delicious recent favorite of mine. To make these desserts look a little fancier, I added chocolate sprinkles and chocolate decorations I made from drizzling melted chocolate on a sheet,  letting it cool, and then breaking it into pieces. This recipe is incredibly easy and still incredibly delicious! Enjoy!!

Recipe: 1 Devil’s Food Chocolate cake mix & required ingredients (eggs, water ,oil) + 1 tsp vanilla + 1/2 cup sour cream

IMG_4518 IMG_4523IMG_4519

31 thoughts on “Chocolate Cupcakes (Cake Mix Doctor)

      • Koni,Thanks for stopping by. I am so glad that you have find the site usfuel, your right it can be a lot of work. To answer your question, you can make the cake with whole wheat flour in place of the flour blend that I suggest, but add 1 1/2 C of wheat flour in place of 1 3/4 whole grain flour blend. Let me know how it turns out. As soon as I make the cake with agave I will let you know how much to add.Happy Baking,Desiree

    • I live in the uk and can buy these at my local cake decorating shop think they’re a31-29 or a31-49 somnthieg like that .They are flat & just have to be unfolded and tabs tucked in Worth it because they make sure the cakes arrive in good order.White sets off the cakes to advantage and is neutral for either male or female style cakesRegards Caroline

    • Lee Lee, hv tried out yr strawberry malhlmasrow cake, is nice. From the look of yr picture, cannot see any malhlmasrow, is it you blend it or melt it together with the gelatine powder as I put the whole piece without cutting or blending. Is this the right way of doing as I’m not quite satify with the one I made.

    • hi hugbear,To cretae the flowers and butterfly.. Can i use fondant instead?? Or i shd use sugar paste in order to make it hard and last longer?? Where are u normally keep after finishing all the cupcakes?Thanks.

  1. I just started following your blog a few days ago and oh my, what wonderful looking, yummy desserts you have made. I love to cook, but I can be very…shall we say baking challenged, but you have made me want to try my hand at it once again. Thank you.

  2. Hey, just wanted to stop over and thank you for following my blog! Love the chocolate designs on top of these cupcakes! I too hate admitting when I use a boxed mix, but sometimes it’s just necessary. In fact, I used a vanilla mix in one of my recent posts, but made it into a pretty rainbow cake- check it out! :)

  3. Iv been thinking all day lol and came up with using chalk. I boguht some chalk pencils years ago and they werent that cheap either and I think Iv only used them a couple of times! It would be interesting to see people colour their images with chalk as we all seem to reach for the markers these days! xxx

Leave a Reply

